Weather Forecast


Wrestling: Osakis falls to top-seeded KMS in 5A tourney

The Osakis wrestling team had the team portion of its season come to an end on Tuesday night after falling 47-21 to top-seeded Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg.

The Silverstreaks (9-16), seeded eighth in the 5A field, got to that match by beating ninth-seeded Ortonville 56-24 in the opening round of the day.

“We wrestled very well as a whole,” Osakis head coach Joey Andreasen said. “We came out aggressive and took control of most matches, which helped us to a dominating performance against Ortonville. We wrestled them three times this year, and each time we beat them by a larger margin, which shows our improvement throughout the year. We also narrowed the gap with top-seeded KMS, wrestling with the same mentality as we did against Ortonville, but they are just too solid up and down their lineup.”

The Fighting Saints (13-3) grabbed the lead right off the bat with a forfeit win at 106 before Osakis tied it with decision wins from Nathan Kulzer at 113 and Seth Johnson at 120.

KMS rattled off four straight wins from there. Jacob Carlson got a pin against Isaac Mattson. Jonathan Tostenson won by tech fall (132, 15-0), Dylan Rudningen by major decision (138, 14-3) and Caleb Collins by forfeit at 145 pounds.

Logan Hartshorn stopped the bleeding temporarily for Osakis with a 5-1 decision win at 152 pounds, but the damage was done. Dominic Strom added a pin for the Silverstreaks in 2:55 at 182 pounds, and Jeran Baker did the same in 3:23 at 220 pounds. That was the final Osakis win of the day as the season came to an end.

The Silverstreaks held out junior Gage Zieske and senior Darrin Stoetzel in the KMS match due to what Andreasen called “minor bumps and bruises.” Both had wins in the first match against Ortonville.

The Silverstreaks dominated much of that contest against the Trojans. Kulzer, Johnson and Zieske all had pins in the early weight classes to build up a big lead. Triston Stoetzel added a 5-0 decision win at 138, while D. Stoetzel won by tech fall (15-0, 5:18) at 145.

Conrad Wiener put his man on his back in 44 seconds at 160 pounds, only to be outdone by teammate Baker at 220 as he got his pin in 13 seconds. Colton Waldvogel (170, fall, 1:35) and Strom (195, fall, 1:44) added wins, as well, to prolong Osakis’ season by one match.

The Silverstreaks will now look ahead to the section individual tournament hosted by New London-Spicer High School Feb. 24-25 as athletes try to punch their tickets to the state tournament at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

“We are hoping to have three wrestlers receive a one or two seed in Seth Johnson, Gage Zieske and Colton Waldvogel, which will put them in a good position to make a state tournament,” Andreasen said. We need to go in with the attitude that any of our wrestlers can make it if they have a good tournament. We will continue to work on their weaknesses and build on their strengths, so they can put themselves in position to be successful next week at sections.”


106 - Will Magaard (KMS) won by forfeit; 113 - Kulzer def. Kyle Meyer, 4-0; 120 - Johnson def. Jared Carlson, 12-5; 126 - Jacob Carlson (KMS) def. Mattson by fall, 2:38; 132 - Tostenson (KMS) def. Duncan Vandergon by tech fall, 15-0; 138 - Rudningen (KMS) def. T. Stoetzel by MD, 14-3; 145 - Caleb Collins (KMS) won by forfeit; 152 - Hartshorn def. Jake Magaard, 5-1; 160 - Derek Krieger (KMS) def. Waldvogel, 3-2; 170 - Brandin Dahl (KMS) def. Wiener by tech fall, 15-0; 182 - Strom def. Ethan Peters by fall, 2:55; 195 - Ryan Torkelson (KMS) won by forfeit; 220 - Baker def. Levi Sweere by fall, 3:23; 285 - Brody Forsell (KMS) won by forfeit


106 - Thomas Eustice (OR) won by forfeit; 113 - Kulzer def. Deaven Boots by fall, 2:39; 120 - Johnson def. Adam Strei by fall, 2:49; 126 - Mattson won by forfeit; 132 - Zieske def. Dustin Veen by fall, 1:39; 138 - T. Stoetzel def. Danny Eastman, 5-0; 145 - D. Stoetzel def. Mike Roach by tech fall, 15-0, 5:18; 152 - Benjamin Eustice (OR) def. Hartshorn by fall, 3:12; 160 - Wiener def. Nathan Erenberg by fall, 0:44; 170 - Waldvogel def. Colin Hartman by fall, 1:35; 182 - Elijah Cloos (OR) def. Nathan Bjerk by fall, 1:04; 195 - Strom def James Erickson by fall, 1:44; 220 - Baker def. James Conrad by fall, 0:13; 285 - Nick Miska (OR) won by forfeit

Eric Morken

Eric Morken is the sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press and Osakis Review newspapers in Douglas County, MN. Follow him on Twitter at echo_sports.

(320) 763-1229