Honors list

Micaela Swenson, Alexandria, Bachelor of Science, Nursing, is among 26 St. Cloud State University students who received honors at the 31st annual Excellence in Leadership Awards Banquet April 14 in the Atwood Memorial Center. The Excellence is Leadership Award is the University's highest award for student leadership, recognizing seniors and second year graduate students who have made outstanding contributions through leadership, service and scholarship to St. Cloud State and the St. Cloud community.


Jarret Seela, son of Joel and Donna Seela, Nelson, has been admitted to North Dakota State University "With Distinction." He will enter NDSU in fall 2019. Distinction means that NDSU is acknowledging Seela as an honor student. In high school, Seela is active in football, baseball, basketball, choir, band leadership

group and student government.


Brody Uhlenkamp, Osakis was awarded the Northern Co-op Foundation Scholarship for the 2019-2020 school year. Northern Co-op Foundation scholarships are awarded to students from the four state areas of Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota and South Dakota. Students need to be seniors in or a graduate of high school and who show potential for significant contributions to cooperative organizations. They must be enrolled at an institution of higher learning and will take a course in business or economics that studies the principles of cooperatives.

Graduates list

Minnesota State University, Mankato will award 2,304 degrees at the end of the spring 2019 semester, with approximately 1,700 students participating in three graduation ceremonies on campus Saturday, May 11 in Taylor Center's Bresnan Arena. Among the graduates is Taharah Hovey, of Osakis, who will graduate Magna Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Science, alcohol and drug studies degree.