Weather Forecast


Todd County 4H hosts award program

Marcella Abrahamson, A-1 4-H club, and Jane Bailey of West Union Country Kids are honored for being 25-Year adult volunteers. (Contributed)

The 2016 Todd County 4-H Achievement Program was held Nov. 20 at the Browerville Community Center. More than 150 area organizations, businesses and individuals sponsored numerous awards to deserving 4-H'ers and their leaders.

The Osakis Review will publish the awards list in three separate stories. This is part one.

Award winners are:

The West Union Country Kids 4-H Club was honored as Most Active Club during the 2015-2016 4-H Club Year; Golden Gophers 4-H Club also received honors. These clubs received cash awards from ProAg, Browerville/Parkers Prairie, and Country Financial, Allen Hoelscher and Marty Host, Browerville, for their achievements this past year.

4-H pins were given to 4-H leaders and members for completion of varying years of service. These pins were sponsored by First State Bank of Swanville, Swanville; Long Prairie Dental Clinic, Long Prairie; and MBC Drainage LLC, David and Jane Bailey, Sauk Centre.

Debra Durheim and Delvin Durheim, Wykeham Willing Workers 4-H Club, received the Ruby Pin Award for 30 years of Adult Leadership. Marcella Abrahamson, A-1 4-H Club, and Jane Bailey, West Union Country Kids 4-H Club, were the recipients of the Emerald Pin Award for 25 years of adult leadership. The Gold Pin Award for 10 years of Adult Leadership was presented to Teresa Perish, A-1 4-H Club.

Central Minnesota Credit Union, Melrose (Offices in Long Prairie, Grey Eagle, Sauk Centre and Melrose) sponsored pin awards to past officers of the Todd County 4-H Leaders Council. Receiving these awards were President - Rebekka Paskewitz, A-1; Vice-President - Jadon Buntjer, Golden Gophers; Treasurer - Rachel Paskewitz, A-1; and Reporter - William Harrington, Lone Star. Receiving pin awards for serving on the 4-H Executive Committee were Northeast District - Sara Carstensen, and Lone Star; Northwest District - Haylie Wielenberg, Wykeham Willing Workers.

Lloyd and Dorothy Strassburg of Burtrum sponsored the 2016 Outstanding 4-H Youth Leader Award, which was presented to Rebekka Paskewitz, A-1.

The Norman and Julie Krause Family of Staples awarded two educational scholarships to 4-H'ers who have done outstanding work in leadership and academics. 4-H'ers receiving the scholarships were Rebekka Paskewitz, A-1, and Laura Sauer, Golden Gophers.

The Todd County 4-H Leaders Council presented the Champion Community Pride Award to the West Union Country Kids 4-H Club.

Todd County Farmers Union awarded cash awards to the Champion 4-H Club Booth and Champion 4-H Club Banner. The West Union Country Kids 4-H Club received the Champion Banner Award and the Champion Club Booth Award was presented to the Golden Gophers 4-H Club.

The Todd County 4-H Leaders Council presented the Friend of 4-H Award to the Todd County Ag Society for their continuous support to the Todd County 4-H Program.

Turtle Creek Vineyard, John and Cathy Walburn and Mary Ann Woeste, Browerville; Family Fabric Shop, Sauk Centre; and Todd County Farmers Union sponsored Quilt, Needlework, Child Development, Home Environment and Creative Arts. Receiving these awards were Katrina Buntjer, Golden Gophers, County Fair Champion Quilt Exhibit; Alexis Woeste, Golden Gophers, County Fair Reserve Champion Quilt Exhibit; Crystal Halbersma, Hustlin Rustics, County Fair Champion Needlework Exhibit; and Crystal Halbersma, Hustlin Rustics, County Fair Reserve Champion Needlework Exhibit. Jana Roste, West Union Country Kids, was the recipient of the Champion Child Development Award and the Reserve Champion Child Development Award was presented to Taylor Perryman, Independent 4-H'er. Recipient of the Champion Creative Arts - Fine Arts Award was Hailey Schleter, Independent 4-H'er. The Reserve Champion Creative Arts - Fine Arts Award was presented to Sophia Broz, Burtrum Boosters. Sophia Broz, Burtrum Boosters, was the recipient of the Champion Creative Arts - Crafts Award, and the Reserve Champion Creative Arts - Crafts Award was presented to John Carstensen, Lone Star. Shayla Marthaler, West Union Country Kids, was presented with the Champion Home Environment Award.

Recipients of the clothing awards were Alexis Woeste, Golden Gophers; Katrina Buntjer, Golden Gophers; Jacy and Jana Roste, West Union Country Kids. Sponsors of these awards were the Pratt Family (in memory of Arthur and Patricia Pratt), Clarissa; Todd County Farmers Union; Sauk Centre Herald, Sauk Centre; and Ace Hardware, Long Prairie.

4-H Food and Nutrition Awards were presented to Natasha Crowe, Burtrum Boosters; Katrina Buntjer, Golden Gophers; Laura, Bridget and Bernadette Sauer, Golden Gophers; Jana Roste, West Union Country Kids; and Alexis Tweeter, A-1. Sponsors of these awards were: Dick Baso Agency, Eagle Bend, and AgStar, Waite Park.

Barb's Pet Boarding, Long Prairie, presented Samuel Mettler, Burtrum Boosters, with the Champion Performing Arts Award, and Emily Berscheit, Golden Gophers, with the Reserve Champion Performing Arts Award.

Sauk Centre Herald, Sauk Centre, presented a cash award to the State Fair Demonstrator Eliza Gould, Golden Gophers.

Livestock trophies were awarded to champion 4-H exhibits at the Todd County Fair. Durheim Family Livestock, Delvin and Debra Durheim, Long Prairie, presented the following 4-H'ers with sheep awards: Champion Sheep Exhibit Award - Derek Pratt, Hustlin Rustics; Reserve Champion Sheep Exhibit Award - Parker Gjerstad, Hustlin Rustics; Champion Ewe Lamb Award - Derek Pratt, Hustlin Rustics; Champion Market Lamb Award - Parker Gjerstad, Hustlin Rustics. The Warren Bromeling Family of Bertha presented Derek Pratt, Hustlin Rustics, with the Champion Senior Sheep Showmanship Award. Todd County Veterinary Clinic, Clarissa, and Long Prairie Veterinary Clinic, Long Prairie, sponsored the following Sheep Showmanship Awards: Reserve Champion Senior Showmanship - Parker Gjerstad, Hustlin Rustics; Champion Intermediate Showmanship - Katrina Buntjer, Golden Gophers; Reserve Champion Intermediate Showmanship - Ella Claseman, Wykeham Willing Workers; Champion Novice Showmanship - Alexis Woeste, Golden Gophers; and Reserve Champion Novice Showmanship - Maria Buntjer, Golden Gophers.