Although their salaries are lower than other school boards, the members of the Osakis School Board approved keeping their salaries the same yet again.

They made that approval at the Monday, Jan. 13, school board meeting.

Board members receive $65 per meeting for attending within the school district and then they may also receive $65 per meeting for attending a meeting out of the district when a claim is turned in.

The chairperson also receives $250 while the clerk receives $200.

School board positions stayed the same as they did in 2019 – Becky Hensley is the chairperson, Michael Collins is the vice chairperson, Genny LeBrun is the clerk and Greg Faber is the treasurer.

In other action, the board approved the following items:

  • Depositories for 2020 are First National Bank of Osakis, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund and MN Trust.

  • The Osakis Review as the school district’s official newspaper.

  • Regular school board meeting dates will continue on the second Monday of the month at 5:30 p.m.

  • Resignation of Bev Guyette, paraprofessional.

  • Leave of absence for Brad Zimmel, custodian and bus driver.

  • Increase in hours for Carissa Thole, paraprofessional.

  • Tabling the purchase of a football scoreboard.

  • Donations from Osakis VFW, $600; Nelson Community Association, $1,000; Galeon, $135; Osakis Wrestling Club, $1,416.12; Geneva Capital, $500; in honor of Jim and Sharon Fearing, $200; John Marthaler Memorial, $65; Minnesota State High School League Foundation, $1,208; and Minnesota Propane Association, $2,500.