Honors list

Thirty University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences (SMHS) students begin the clinical portion of their studies next week in an effort to earn their Master of Physician Assistant Studies (MPAS) degree. Among them was Jenna Zwiers, of Nelson. The White Coat Ceremony for these future physician assistants (PAs) was held at 2 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 17, in the Charles H. Fee, M.D., Auditorium at the SMHS, Grand Forks, ND.


The following local students were named to the fall semester 2019 president’s honor list at The North Dakota State College of Science, Whapeton, ND. Among these students was Carl Haider, Electrical Technology, of Osakis.The North Dakota State College of Science, honor list recognizes students who have achieved grade point averages of 3.5 or higher while taking at least 12 credits with letter grades.

Dean’s list

Gregg Raisanen, Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs at Alexandria Technical & Community College recognizes individual students for academic excellence during fall 2019. The following students from Osakis were named to the dean's list for achieving a GPA of 3.5 or higher Fall Semester 2019. They are as follows: Abby Breiter, Isaac Hetland, Haylee Jern, Madisen Johanson, Nathan Kulzer, Jay Manders, Leslie Schmidt, Skyler Schmidt, Colton Waldvogel, Brianna Woodard, Austin Young, Tyler Young and Ewa Zajac.


Ridgewater College, Willmar, MN, would like to acknowledge those students earning recognition on the

dean’s lists for fall semester 2019. In order to be included on the dean’s list a student must maintain a grade point average of 3.5 or higher and be enrolled in at least twelve credits, and meet certain other criteria. Local students include Elizabeth Drevlow, Osakis.


Several local students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead, Moorhead, MN, dean’s list in recognition of academic achievement fall semester 2019. Students must be in degree-seeking status and maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average while completing a minimum of 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor. They are as listed, with degrees, as follows:

Osakis: Jena Backes, Mathematics, Mathematics Education; Morgan Faber, Speech/Language/Hearing Science, Paul Hartmann, Music Education; Morgan Herzog, Social Studies; Mali Larson, Health Services Administration, Social Work, Pre-Occupational Therapy; Megan Peikert, Early Childhood Education; Brooke Pfeffer, Accounting; Jordyn Rajdl, Speech/Language/Hearing Science; Brittney Sadlemyer, Elementary Inclusive Education; Kayla Sorenson, Physical Education, Health Education; Dacotah Stanek, Early Childhood Education; Bree Timmerman, Social Work

Nelson: Hannah Nelson, Graphic Design, Psychology


The University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) has announced its dean's list for fall semester 2019. Students on the dean's list have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. The following local students who have achieved dean’s list honors include: Erin O'Kane, of Nelson, College of Education and Human Service Professions, Pre Integr Elem and Spec Ed.

Graduates list

Katya O'Brien, Osakis was among the 243 2019 Fall Semester graduates of Minnesota State Community and Technical College, with campuses in Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead and Wadena. Katya graduated with a degree in Massage Therapy. As a member of the Minnesota State system, M State serves more than 8,000 students in credit courses each year in 80 career and liberal arts programs online and at its campuses in Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead and Wadena. By partnering with communities, the college also provides workforce development services and other responsive training programs.