Weather Forecast


School awards insurance contracts

Contracts for property insurance and worker's compensation insurance for the 2018-19 were accepted by the Osakis School Board at its Monday, June 11 regular meeting.

Two sealed bids were received for each insurance coverage, and the School Board accepted the low bids.

The property insurance contract was awarded to Larson Insurance Company of Alexandria at a total cost of $32,838. The Worker's Compensation Insurance contract was awarded to Larson Insurance Company of Alexandria on their bid of $38,353.

Personnel matters

The School Board considered a long list of personnel changes, both hirings and resignations at the meeting.

Tracy Stigman was hired as the elementary secretary at a pay rate of $18.28 per hour. This was a position left open with the resignation of Bonnie Schultz. There were nearly 30 applicants for the position. Seven were interviewed by the hiring committee of five people.

A contract for the 2017-18 school year with Tim Roggenbuck, high school principal, was approved at $101,500, an increase of 1.5 percent.

Megan Gibbons was hired as junior class advisor at per the Master Agreement amount of $1,599.

Dan Beste was hired as assistant girls basketball coach at per Master Agreement amount of $4,317.

The resignation of Lorraine Listberger as district secretary was accepted, with thanks for her years of service.

The resignation of Dave Atkinson as Special Education teacher was approved. He has accepted a position at Long Prairie.

The resignation of Dawn Kaelke as business teacher was approved. She is going to pursue other opportunities.

Jeff Kalpin has resigned as Special Education teacher. He is moving to another school district.

The resignations of Matt Hoelscher and Kyle Kostrzewski as Student Council advisors were accepted. Hoelscher also resigned as junior class advisor. He has taken over coaching duties, and Kostrzewski is the new yearbook advisor.

The resignation of Sarah Maddock as choir accompanist was accepted with thanks for her service.

Tenure was granted to Tera Anderson, Dan Beste and Karen Kamrowski.

The request for a three-year leave of absence from Carmen Silbernick, music teacher, was declined by the School Board.

The board renewed membership in the Minnesota Rural Education Assn. at a cost of $1,995, as well as the Minnesota State High School League for the coming school year. No amount was set for the MSHSL.

A transfer of $40,000 from the General Fund to pay down the deficit for the School Readiness Program in the Community Education Fund was approved. This is an annual pay down.