Weather Forecast


Filings open for city, school, township seats

If you've thought about running for public office, now is the time.

The filing period for city, school and township positions opened on July 31 and will remain open through Tuesday, Aug. 14.

In and around Osakis, several positions are up for election, including:

Osakis City Council — the mayor and two council seats.

Nelson City Council — the mayor and two council seats.

West Union — mayor, one council seat and city clerk.

Miltona Township — two supervisor positions, Seat B and Seat C, and township treasurer.

Osakis School Board — three school board positions.

For more information about filing, check with your city or township clerk.

The primary election is also coming up. It will take place on Tuesday, Aug. 14.

To see your primary ballot or to find out where to vote, go to the Minnesota Secretary of State's website at and search for "primary ballot."

In addition to the local positions, state and federal races will also be on the ballot — two U.S. Senate seats, U.S. representative, governor and lieutenant governor, and attorney general.

Minnesota candidates

(Primaries needed only when there is more than one candidate in a party)

U.S. Senate (full six-year term)

Republican: Jim Newberger, Rocky De La Fuente, Rae Hart Anderson, Merrill Anderson

Democrat: Amy Klobuchar(i), Leonard Richards, David Robert Groves, Stephen Emery, Steve Carlson.

Green: Paula Overby

Legal Marijuana Now: Dennis Schuller

U.S. Senate (to fill two years of Franken term)

Republican: Karin Housley, Nikolay Nikolayevich Bey, Bob Anderson

Democrat: Tina Smith, Richard Painter, Christopher Lovell Seymore Sr., Nick Leonard, Gregg Iverson, Ali Chehem Ali

Unaffiliated: Jerry Trooien

Legal Marijuana Now: Sarah Wellington

U.S. House District 7

Republican: Dave Hughes, Matt Prosch

Democrat: Collin Peterson(i)

Governor-lieutenant governor

Republican: Jeff Johnson-Donna Bergstrom, Matt Cruse-Thomas Loeffler, Tim Pawlenty-Michelle Fischbach

Democrat: Tim Holden-James Mellin II, Erin Murphy-Erin Maye-Quade, Ole Saavior-Chris Edman, Lori Swanson-Rick Nolan, Tim Walz-Peggy Flanagan

Libertarian: Josh Welter-Mary O'Connor

Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis: Chris Wright-Judith Schwartzbacker

Secretary of state

Republican: John Howe

Democrat: Steve Simon(i)

Independence: William Denney

State auditor

Republican: Pam Myhra

Democrat: Julie Blaha

Libertarian: Chris Dock

Legal Marijuana Now: Michael Ford

Attorney general

Republican: Robert Lessard, Sharon Anderson, Doug Wardlow

Democrat: Keith Ellison, Tom Foley, Debra Hilstrom, Matt Pelikan, Mike Rothman

Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis: Noah Johnson

(i) indicates the candidate is an incumbent

Al Edenloff

Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  

(320) 763-1236