Weather Forecast


UPDATE: Big decisions await Osakis voters

Osakis area voters will have a lot of decisions to make this November.

They'll not only be voting for state offices, but also for city and school board positions.

The filing period, which closed Aug. 14, brought out a flurry of candidates for Osakis mayor, Osakis City Council and Osakis School Board.

A total of 13 candidates filed for office:

Osakis mayor — Keith "Kip" Emerson (incumbent) and Paul Hartmann.

Osakis City Council, two positions — Randy Anderson (incumbent), Laura Backes, Alan Larson, Joseph Nathe and Jim Snyder (incumbent).

Osakis School Board, three positions — Fran Breiter, Greg Faber (incumbent), Chris George, Dirk Hagedon, Chard Hagen and Becky Hensley (incumbent). Another incumbent who is up for election, Monica Klimek, did not file for reelection.

Positions up for election in nearby cities include:

Carlos mayor – Michael Bous.

Carlos City Council, two positions – Doreley Glisson, Teresa Zwieg and Ronna Berghoff.

Forada mayor – no one filed. (Write-in votes will determine the winner.)

Forada City Council, two positions – Scott Erickson (regular council position) and David Reller (special election seat).

Forada clerk/treasurer – Jo Kluver.

Nelson mayor – Gerald Gay.

Nelson City Council, two positions – Sean Gay, Corina Weinhandl.

West Union mayor – Roger Engle and Steve Merten.

West Union City Council – Kelly Marthaler.

West Union Clerk – Janet Macey.

The general election will take place on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

To register to vote or to check to see if you are registered, go to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website at

Al Edenloff

Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  

(320) 763-1236