Weather Forecast


County primary mirrors state results

Douglas County voters were in sync with the rest of Minnesota in the Aug. 14 primary election.

In all nine primary races, they preferred the same candidates as those who received the most votes state- or district-wide.

The percentages were a bit different, however.

The Republican race for governor between Tim Pawlenty and Jeff Johnson, for example, was tighter here, with Johnson picking up 50.5 percent of the votes compared to Pawlenty's 46.0 percent. Statewide, Johnson prevailed with 53 percent of the vote.

The county once again leaned toward conservative candidates. Of the 6,220 ballots cast, 3,304 voted on the Republican side of the ballot while 2,861 selected Democratic candidates. (Some voters didn't vote in partisan races and there were some crossover ballots that didn't count.)

Voter turnout in Douglas County was fairly strong. Vicki Doehling, the county's elections administrator, put it at 25 percent, which was better than the 21 percent who voted in the primary four years ago.

Races for two Douglas County Board positions contributed to the uptick. Turnout in eight of the nine precincts that had county board candidates on the ballot topped 25 percent and four had turnouts of more than 30 percent.

Countywide, the best turnout was in the city of Forada where 39 percent of voters cast ballots. The lowest turnout was in the city of Osakis — which didn't have a county board primary. Less than 18 percent of Osakis voters went to the polls.

Here's a list of the Minnesota candidates who were in the primary ballot and final vote totals from Douglas County:

U.S. Senate (full six-year term)


Jim Newberger—1,991

Merrill Anderson—517

Rae Hart Anderson—270

Rocky De La Fuente— 179


Amy Klobuchar (incumbent)—2,690

Steve Carlson—63

David Robert Groves—36

Stephen Emery—24

Leonard Richards—16

U.S. Senate (to fill two years of Al Franken's term)


Karin Housley—1,844

Bob Anderson—1,176

Nikolay Nikolayevich Bey—60


Tina Smith—2,085

Richard Painter—442

Gregg Iverson—120

Nick Leonard—75

Ali Chehem Ali—35

Christopher Lovell Seymore Sr.—19

U.S. House District 7


Dave Hughes—2,206

Matt Prosch—726

Governor-lieutenant governor


Jeff Johnson-Donna Bergstrom—1,666

Tim Pawlenty-Michelle Fischbach—1,517

Matt Cruse-Thomas Loeffler—117


Tim Walz-Peggy Flanagan—1,233

Lori Swanson-Rick Nolan—963

Erin Murphy-Erin Maye-Quade—591

Tim Holden-James Mellin II—36

Ole Savior-Chris Edman—17

Attorney general


Doug Wardlow—1,265

Sharon Anderson—964

Robert Lessard—782


Keith Ellison—1,308

Debra Hilstrom—607

Tom Foley—432

Mike Rothman—217

Matt Pelikan—164

Al Edenloff

Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  

(320) 763-1236