The Osakis wrestling team got a tournament win under its belt on Wednesday night before running into a buzz saw in second-seeded Minnewaska.

The Silverstreaks were seeded seventh in the 5A field and took care of 10th-seeded Ortonville in a 54-24 final. That sent them into a match-up with the Lakers, where Minnewaska won 76-6 to secure its spot in the section semifinals that will be wrestled in Benson on Friday night.

Osakis’ lone win against the Lakers came from junior Nate Kulzer at 126 pounds. He pinned Jacob Lien in 1:10. It was part of a two-win day for Kulzer as he added a forfeit win at 126 against Ortonville.

Minnewaska, ranked fourth in the Feb. 8 Class A polls, has a deep lineup this season. They showed that off by racking up huge points throughout the 14 weight classes. Easton McCrory, Jackson Stadsvold, Max Reichmann, Mason Blair, Adam Larson, Nathan Rankin, Tyson Meyer and Tyler VanLuik all had pins.

Osakis needed just four wins in contested match-ups against Ortonville, with the Trojans giving away 30 points due to five forfeits.

Seventh-grader Gaven Cimbura got the Silverstreaks going with a 10-1, major-decision win at 106 pounds. Logan Grove followed at 113 with a pin in 2:20.

Kale Drevlow had no problems at 132 pounds as he pinned Jacob Cloos in 37 seconds. Ortonville took the next three weight classes, but four straight forfeits from 160-195 and a pin in 2:39 from Dominic Strom at 220 pounds put the finishing touches on the win for Osakis.

The Silverstreaks still have the Section 5A individual tournament to look forward to. That will run on Feb. 23, starting at 9 a.m. back at Minnewaska Area High School.   


106 – Jacob Blair (Minnewaska Area) over Logan Grove, Maj 12-3; 113 – Easton McCrory (Minnewaska Area) over Gaven Cimbura, Fall 0:36; 120 – Caden Koziol (Minnewaska Area), Forfeit; 126 – Nathan Kulzer (Osakis) over Jacob Lien, Fall 1:10; 132 – Jackson Stadsvold (Minnewaska Area) over Carsten Jacobsen, Fall 4:47; 138 – Max Reichmann (Minnewaska Area) over Kale Drevlow, Fall 1:22; 145 – Mason Blair (Minnewaska Area) over Tyson Hagedon, Fall 3:16; 152 – Adam Larson (Minnewaska Area) over Hunter Harlow Harlow, Fall 4:32; 160 – Ryan VanLuik (Minnewaska Area), Forf; 170 – Nathan Rankin (Minnewaska Area) over Nathan Bjerk, Fall 1:57; 182 – Tyson Meyer (Minnewaska Area) over Triston Stoetzel, Fall 0:49; 195 – Tyler VanLuik (Minnewaska Area) over Dominic Strom, Fall 1:03; 220 – Dylan Jergenson (Minnewaska Area), Forf; 285 – Jakob Swalla (Minnewaska Area), Forf


106 – Gaven Cimbura (Osakis) over Brooklyn Conrad, Maj 10-1; 113 – Logan Grove (Osakis) over Nathan Gustafson, Fall 2:20; 120 – Austin Eastman (Ortonville), Forf; 126 – Nathan Kulzer (Osakis), Forf; 132 – Kale Drevlow (Osakis) over Jacob Cloos, Fall 0:37; 138 – Deaven Boots (Ortonville) over Carsten Jacobsen, Dec 6-4; 145 – Thomas Eustice (Ortonville) over Tyson Hagedon, Dec 6-0; 152 – Danny Eastman (Ortonville) over Alejandro Garcia-Ramirez, Fall 0:28; 160 – Hunter Harlow Harlow (Osakis), Forf; 170 – Triston Stoetzel (Osakis), Forf; 182 – Nathan Bjerk (Osakis), Forf; 195 – Brock Faber (Osakis), Forf; 220 – Dominic Strom (Osakis) over Nathan Ehrenberg, Fall 2:39; 285 – James Conrad (Ortonville), Forf