Weather Forecast


Boys basketball: Osakis honors another 20-win season

Osakis boys basketball team award winners are (left to right) Luke Imdieke, Defensive POY; Kobie Lara, most improved; Daniel Savageau, MVP; and Jay Manders, Silverstreak Award. (Submitted photo)1 / 4
Osakis sophomore forward Kobie Lara shoots in the lane against Barnesville on March 8. Lara earned Osakis' Most Improved Player Award after shooting 58.9 percent from the field this season and putting up 149 points. (Eric Morken / Osakis Review)2 / 4
Osakis sophomore guard Daniel Savageau lofts a shot over the defense of Perham's Jenson Beachy during the Silverstreaks' section semifinal game on March 12. Savageau was named the team and Prairie Conference MVP this season after averaging 21.5 points per game. (Eric Morken / Osakis Review)3 / 4
Osakis All-Prairie Conference recipients are (left to right) Luke Imdieke, Josh Peterka (honorable mention), Reid DeWenter and Daniel Savaguea, MVP. (Submitted photo)4 / 4

The Osakis boys basketball team had plenty of accomplishments to honor at its season-ending awards banquet after making a run all the way to the section semifinals this year.

The Silverstreaks were 22-7 and the champions of the Prairie Conference with a 12-0 record. Sophomore guard Daniel Savageau was a big part of that, and he was named the conference's most valuable player and the team MVP for Osakis. Savageau shot at a 48-percent clip from the field on his way to averaging 21.5 points per game (538 total). He led Osakis in steals (47), three-point percentage (43.5) and free throw percentage (76.5).

Senior Reid DeWenter and sophomore Luke Imdieke both joined Savageau on the All-Prairie Conference team, while Josh Peterka was an honorable-mention selection.

Peterka led Osakis in rebounds with 156. Imdieke was the Silverstreaks' assists leader with 124, and he also took home the team award as the best defensive player. Imdieke averaged 8.2 points per game and had 41 steals.

Sophomore forward Kobie Lara was named Osakis' most-improved player. He shot a team-leading 58.9 percent (56-of-95) on his way to putting up 149 points (5.3 PPG). Senior Jay Manders wrapped up Osakis' team award winners by taking home the Silverstreak Award.

Osakis will lose five seniors from this year's group in Manders, DeWenter, Philip Mathews, Riley Werven and Peterka. DeWenter was the Silverstreaks' second-leading scorer at 9 points per game, and Osakis will have to find a replacement for his shooting as he finished second on the team with 55 three-pointers. But the Silverstreaks have solid pieces coming back next year as they try to make it three straight seasons of winning at least 20 games.


LETTER WINNERS - Reid DeWenter, Josh Peterka, Riley Werven, Philip Mathews, Jay Manders, Jonathan Lara, Brandon Boogaard, Daniel Savageau, Luke Imdieke, Kobie Lara, Carter Rost

Eric Morken

Eric Morken is the sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press and Osakis Review newspapers in Douglas County, MN. Follow him on Twitter at echo_sports.

(320) 763-1229